March On

As the last day of March commences and the stormy but beautiful month of April begins, I decide I must make a change.  My rhythm is off, the interior dialogue of ideas and plans that usually bothers my brain has fallen silent.  I’m not sure what precipitated this change.  Perhaps it’s my landing a job so far from where I thought I’d be.  Perhaps it’s the excitement of finally having a real salary and money to spend on things, or the happiness of finally having weekends off.  Or perhaps it’s some kind of subconscious relief, followed closely by guilt because I feel relief, that I don’t have to work my ass off now to find a writing job.  Maybe it’s a mix of all that.

All I know is that my life is picking up speed.  Time is flying.  I haven’t written a speck of real writing since Christmas, but I’ve picked up the guitar again, and been surprised at what’s come out of my fingers.  Full circle?  I hope not.  I want to go forwards, not back.

In any case, I’ve decided to turn this blog into a monthly one.  If I feel like writing more, then I will.  If I feel so inspired that I want to write three times in a week, I will.  But I’m tired of pressuring myself; that’s not what writing, or any art, should be about.

So welcome to the new year of things…I hope you like it here.

What's on your mind?

