You Can’t Always Get What You Want

I admit, I listen to talk radio sometimes.  It mainly started as my daily afternoon with Clark Howard, but soon it evolved to a morbid curiosity of sorts, and the voices of Neil Boortz, Shawn Hannity, and now Rush Limbaugh float over the airwaves into my car each day.

This is where I get a lot of my blogging ideas.

This is also why I think I’ll need blood pressure medication when I get older.

It’s baffling to me that such a stubborn attitude can be so pervasive in a society.  It’s amazing that people can be so narrow minded, so close minded, and so entitled, all at once.  I learned a long time ago that there will always be people who disagree with you.  But I do not, nor have I ever, had the right to impose my person belief system onto someone else.

(This is certainly not what they taught us in elementary, middle, and high school.  Southern Baptists, ftw)

Do you have the right to believe what you want?  Of course.  Do you have the right to force me to agree with you, put me down because I see things differently, or otherwise make me feel less intelligent because we happen to disagree?  No.  Never.

To me, to be part of a society means working together towards a common goal.  Maybe you don’t always agree, but once elections are over the idea should be to get down to it and solve the problems.  Work together, compromise, and figure out a way to live up to our name – the UNITED States.

I’m not sure exactly what I’m trying to say; there are many thoughts and tangents floating through my head.  Maybe this will be a twofer.

Readers, tell me what you think.  Whether it has to do with this post or not!

What's on your mind?

