July, July

There’s something about waking up early the day after a long summer thunderstorm.  I’m spending the morning at Crema, my favorite Dunwoody coffee shop, first doing some work, then an interview for an article I’m writing, and then some more work, and there’s something to be said for being one of the first patrons of the day.

coffeecoffeecoffee

Of course, my running out of coffee at the apartment had a lot to do with it, too, but let’s not talk about that.

I was “relaxing” at Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport last night while the storm raged; I wouldn’t have known unless I’d looked at my radar app (which I did) and a very concerned worker hadn’t kept announcing that THE RAMP IS CLOSED.  THERE IS LIGHTNING WITHIN 5 MILES OF THE AIRPORT. THE RAMP.  IS.  CLOSED.  Luckily, despite the ramp being closed, mom’s flight arrived on time and I got to hear all about her Vegas trip.  I’ll leave out the part where we had to chase her suitcase around the luggage carousel because it was stuck on a flap, and a nice man had to help us out.  You can’t take us anywhere.

As I’m sitting here this morning, I can see numerous flags flying around the coffeehop and church across the street.  These are only a few that I’ve already seen; Dunwoody is particularly patriotic this year.  I’m toying with the idea of attending the parade this year, if only because of the horses I know are rumored to be there, but the idea of sleeping in will probably win out.  However, there will be the traditional baby back ribs for lunch.  America, everybody.  Land of the Delicious Food.

Happy Thursday, friends, and I hope your 4th of July weekend is full of good food, good times, and loud fireworks.

What's on your mind?

