Ten Septembers

No, this isn’t a September 11th post.  There have been enough of those.

Ten years ago, I packed my bags and moved out of my house and onto campus at Oglethorpe University.  I was a young and naive, both scared and desperately excited at the same time.  It was the biggest thing that ever happened to me.

And it changed me.  I look back now, as a 30-year-old woman, and don’t recognize that little girl.  But that’s ok.  That’s life.  It’s how it’s supposed to be.

Coincidentally, 2006 also marked the release year for John Mayer’s Continuum.  Now, I have loved John Mayer since I was 16 and heard No Such Thing playing on the radio at the small antique shop where I worked.  His music continued to soundtrack my late teenage years, through crushes and graduation and first days of college.  I wanted more than anything to write songs that sounded like his, and I feel that, somehow, I got close.

john-mayer

We’ve both aged these past 10 years.  You can see the lines on our faces, the wear and tear, the questionable hairstyles (I’m finding more and more gray in mine as the days pass).  But it’s an honor to mark an anniversary with something that meant so much to you.  From the quiet Stop This Train that miraculously put my thoughts and emotions into words that I could never have combined to the haunting Slow Dancing in a Burning Room to my favorite, Gravity, the only John Mayer song to produce a line that I will one day tattoo on my body, Continuum was, to me, the epitome of John’s brilliance.

I’ll never find another you, Mr. Mayer.  Here’s to the next 10.

What's on your mind?

